Eat Your Own Words

Soooooo I know, I haven’t written awhile.  I don’t have anything to apologize for, either.  Successful people don’t come up with excuses as to why something didn’t happen.  They just move on.  But, I will say this: I was dealing with some life changing issues that needed some deep reflecting, and just writing/blogging about it would not really help.  I needed to find the right words to say, so that I wouldn’t sound like a blubbering idiot.

The last time I blogged, I was going through a self-made devotional on prayer.  It got too complicated, so I got the book “Screwtape Letters” by, C.S. Lewis.  Wow!  Talk about what goes through your mind can really change the perspective on life, relationships, and your own perspective on who God really is.  Since then, I’ve had to deal with fear and negative thoughts going through my head.  Trust me, if it makes you an ugly person on the inside or out, it’s not from God.

Also, I’ve been contemplating about changing places of employment.  I would like to stay with the company that I currently work for, but possibly in another department.  But, if leaving there would be even better-money, ego, and educationally better, then I will go for it.  Scary, but will go anyway.

Yes, I said ego. Everyone has an ego.  There are times when I do need my ego to be stroked.  It’s healthy when someone else strokes it for the right reasons-because you deserve it.  There are times when you have to stroke someone’s ego-because it’s healthy for you, making you humble.  It’s when we take the two to extreme levels that they become unhealthy.

I like how a friend of mine gives me the imagery of someone who’s doing too much stroking of another person…if the person that was receiving the stroking had to stop suddenly, the person doing the stroking would end up in their rear-end.  This is what brown nosing looks like. Not good for either person, and certainly not safe 🙂

Lastly, I had to figure out how to say, “No!” to certain people and understand that sometimes that’s the best key to success.

Hopefully this will be the continuation of my journey to better success.

Leave a comment